Harvard Business School

Baker Library | Bloomberg Center

 

Pharmaceutical Industry

Company Directories & Rankings

Capital IQ
(Current HBS faculty, students, and staff)
Generate lists of public and private companies as well as investment firms world wide. Find data on company finacials and capital transactions, information on people and more.

Orbis
(HU PIN, Authorized Baker visitors)
Find lists of public and private companies world wide with company profiles, company and industry analyst reports, company financials, latest developments and more. May rank companies by different categories.

Red Book: Pharmacy's Fundamental Reference
Medical Economics, published annually
Ref. RS 356 .D88 in print in Baker Library
Directory for pharmacists includes information for emergencies, specific drugs, pharmaceutical organizations, and pharmaceutical manufacturers and their catalogs. Also includes information on OTC preparations and diagnostic products.

National Association of Chain Drug Stores
NACDS, published annually
Ref. HF5468 .N37 in print in Baker Library
Comprehensive membership directory of chain drug stores; includes contact information.

Physician's Desk Reference
Medical Economics, published annually
Ref. RS 356 .P54in print in Baker Library
Information on pharmaceutical products. Includes descriptions, indications and usage, precautions, adverse reactions and information on dosage and administration. Indexed by manufacturer and brand and generic name.

Scrip’s Yearbook
PJB Publications, published annually
Ref. HD9665.1 .S36 in print in Baker Library
Reviews major industry developments, ranks top 30 pharmaceutical companies by league tables, and provides statistics on regulation, M&As, and clinical trials.

Pharmaceutical Industry

Trade Journals

Drug Store News
Lebhar-Friedman, published bimonthly
All aspects of pharmaceuticals and personal care retailing.

Drug Topics
Medical Economics, published semimonthly
Covers drug developments, industry trends, legislation/regulation, and continuing education.
Tip: Their Web site includes late-breaking news, articles from the current issue, industry-related links and reports on various treatments, and new drug approvals.

Med Ad News
Euromoney Institutional Investor, published monthly
Find articles on business and marketing trends and issues in pharmaceutical industry.

Pharmaceutical Executive
Advanstar Communications, published monthly
Discusses pharmaceutical industry business and marketing issues.
Tip: Selected articles and current table of contents are available here.

Pharmaceutical Technology
Advanstar, published monthly
Find articles on trends, issues, latest developments.

For more resources, use Business Source Complete and Lexis-Nexis— In Lexis-Nexis, use the Business category, then the Industry & Market link. The drop-down Industry menu includes Pharmaceuticals and cosmetics.

Pharmaceutical Industry

Associations & Organizations

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Generic Pharmaceutical Association (GPhA)
Provides legislative information and regulation updates for manufacturers of generic pharmaceuticals.

International Association for Pharmaceutical Science and Technology (PDA)
Founded as the Parenteral Drug Association, members focus on the science and technology of pharmaceutical manufacturing and product development.

International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Associations (IFPMA)
Represents the worldwide research-based pharmaceutical industry and other manufacturers of prescription medicines. The site provies news and documents that address issues and policies.

Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA)
A leading trade organization in the pharmaceutical industry.
Tip: See their annual Industry Profile.

Pharmaceutical Industry

Statistics & Analysis

Current Industrial Reports: Pharmaceutical Preparations
U.S. Bureau of the Census, published annually
Data on shipments, imports, and exports by product type.

Drug Industry Market Share Report
Chain Store Guide, published annually
Ref. HD9665.4 .D78 in print in Baker Library
Find two-year market share data that covers top 500 geographic markets, market share for chain drug companies and independent drug stores by pharmacy and front-end products, and overview of the industry trends and market profiles.

Frost & Sullivan
In-depth analysis monitoring all aspects of the global pharmaceutical and biotechnology markets
Tip: To fine-tune your search, go to Advanced Search, use Browse or Search to pinpoint a specific sector.

Parexel’s Pharmaceutical R&D Statistical Sourcebook
Parexel International Corp, published annually
Ref. HD9665.1 .P37 in print in Baker Library
Provides analysis, data, and articles on current trends, developments, trials, genomics, and innovative patents.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides industry survey reports both in the US and world regions. Reports are updated every six months.

For more resources, go to Find E-Resources and select the "Subject" tab. Scroll down to Science and Technology. Look at Biology as well as Medicine as the sources are not all listed in both places.

Pharmaceutical Industry

Careers & Networking

MBA Career Services­ -- Biotech/Pharmaceutical
Harvard Business School
Resources specially designed to help HBS students conduct effective career research.

CareerJournal—Pharmaceuticals
Wall Street Journal Online
Current hiring news and salary reports for a range of compensation figures in the pharmaceutical industry.

eyeforpharma Career Center
A free login allows access to job listings organized by industry sector.

InPharm Jobs Database
An international database searchable by location, type of business, or specific recruiting firm. Jobs are posted for two months.

Pharmaceutical Jobs-USA
Lists current positions in the pharmaceutical and bioscience fields. Jobs are posted for 90 days. Free registration required.


Baker Library | Bloomberg Center, Harvard Business School, Soldiers Field, Boston, MA 02163, 617-495-6040