Pharmaceuticals
- Overviews and Analysis
-
Ernst & Young Industries: Pharmaceuticals
Includes free industry reports, surveys of executives, and discussions of critical issues.Frost & Sullivan
Analyst reports on trends, issues, and market-related topics.Gale Virtual Reference Library .
Include Strategies in Drug Discovery and Evaluation and general background on other pharmaceutical related topics. (Select the Medicine section.)Impact Report
Check Harvard availability
Published bimonthly by the Tufts Center for the Study of Drug Development. Each issue focuses on a major research finding in development costs, effects of new legislation, and launch strategies.MarketResearch.com Academic
Reports from several market research firms.ScienceDirect
Find current and historical overviews related to pharmaceuticals such as nanotechnology tools in pharmaceutical R&D and in drug delivery. Also covers new business and technical issues, trends and developments in countries.Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Best for a broad overview. Click on "Industries" in the top navigation bar, and select "Healthcare:Pharmaceuticals" from the "Industry Surveys" drop-down menu. - Regulation
-
Government and Regulatory Bodies
List of national regulators.NIH Office of Technology Transfer (OTT)
Information on licensing policies, process, opportunities, and more.U.S. Drug Approval Application Process
By The Center for Drug Evaluation and Research..U.S. Drug Approval Trends and Yearbook
Check Harvard availability
Ref. RA401.5 .U8 in the Stamps Reading Room
Provides the latest performance metrics and trend analysis on the new drug approval process.World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
Provides IP database, statistics, and documents on various IP topics such as drug discovery and development. - Pipeline/R&D
-
EudraCT
A European clinical trials database. Covers all clinical trials commencing in the EU from May 2004 onwards. EudraCT HelpdeskEudraPharm
A database of information on all medicinal products for human or veterinary use that have been authorized in the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA).New Medicines in Development Database
This database from Innovation.org includes medicines currently in clinical trials or at FDA for review.PAREXEL's Bio/Pharmaceutical R&D Statistical Sourcebook
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HD9665.1 .P37 in the Stamps Reading Room
Provides short articles, graphics, and tables on key global markets. Includes proprietary analysis of U.S. clinical trials segmented by therapeutic category. - Drug Information and Prices
-
Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
Information about products the FDA regulates; lists new approvals and drugs in trial.DrugBank
Provides detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.See also Where can I find drug prices?
- Companies
-
Pharmaceutical Executive
Gives sales, R&D spending and top products of the largest pharmaceutical companies including latest "Pharma Exec 50".Start-up
Check Harvard availability
Reviews new medical companies.See also How can I create a list of companies by industry, location, and/or size? and Where can I get lists of fast growing companies?
- Careers, Associations and Events
-
Careers
HBS MBA students please see MBA Career & Professional Development.
HBS Alumni please see Alumni Career & Professional Development.FiercePharma
News, events, whitepapers, webinars, and jobs in health care industries.Life Sciences World
Includes news about the life sciences and biotech industries, job postings, and a directory of companies in these industries."Top 20 Pharmaceutical Companies"
Medical Marketing & Media, 45(5)(2010):42-48.See also What resources can I use for networking?
Associations
International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Associations (IFPMA)
Global non-profit NGO representing the research-based pharmaceutical, biotech and vaccine sectors covering developed and developing countries.Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA)
Represents the country's leading pharmaceutical research and biotechnology companies. Provides free in-depth reports on major aspects of the industry.See also Where can I find associations for an industry or profession?
Events
BioPharm America
Brings together executives in the pharmaceutical and biotech industries to identify and enter strategic relationships. Networking opportunities with industry participants from the U.S., Europe, and Asia.C21 BioVentures
Attracts a targeted audience of senior executives from the biotechnology, pharmaceutical, and venture capital communities.See also How can I find conferences and trade shows for a given industry?
- News and Journals
-
Drug Discovery and Development
Check Harvard availability
Provides the pharmaceutical and biotechnology research community with the latest drug discovery developments.Med Ad News
Check Harvard availability
Published monthly. Articles on business and marketing trends, issues, and strategies in the medical and pharmaceutical industries.Pharmaceutical Executive
Check Harvard availability
Published monthly. Provides information on marketing, sales, promotion, legal, and regulatory issues.Pharmaceutical Technology
Check Harvard availability
Focuses on applied research and development technology, process control and computer-integrated manufacturing, biotechnology and technical management.Science-Business eXchange (SciBX)
Provides articles on current analysis of the most promising scientific and technological innovations, often through a business perspective.See also Find articles for databases to search on the topic.
HBS Resources
- HBS Healthcare Initiative
- HBS Working Knowledge: Pharmaceuticals
- HBS Faculty Books on Pharmaceuticals
- HBS Faculty Interested in Pharmaceuticals
Related Guides
