Music
A great starting place for research on the music industry; this guide points to the best resources available to the HBS community.
Expand/Collapse All- Overviews and Analysis
-
Global Entertainment and Media Outlook
Global perspectives regarding dollars spent on recorded music, size of the global market, impact of piracy on sales for physical distribution, and a comparative analysis markets including the U.S.Forrester
New technologies, consumer behavior, digital asset management technologies, revenue models, benchmarking of technology investments, and brand-specific consumer profiles. To search by industry, select "Advanced Search" then "Music" under the "Media and Entertainment" category.NAMM global report : Music USA : a statistical review of the music products industry.
Check Harvard availability
Stacks -- Serials 5746500
Product sales totals and analysis for 25 segments of musical products ranging from printed music to drum machines. - Companies
-
Billboard International Buyer's Guide
Check Harvard availability
Ref. PN2000 .B52 in the Stamps Reading Room
Record labels, audio book publishers, music publishers, video studios, wholesalers and distributors, equipment manufacturers, associations, and organizations are compiled in this directory.Billboard Talent & Touring International Guide
Check Harvard availability
Ref. PN2000 .B54 2009 in the Stamps Reading Room
Lists performing artists as well as managers/agents, tour venues and services, tour merchandisers, and facility equipment managers. European and international companies are in separate sections, divided by country.Purchasers' Guide to the Music Industries
Check Harvard availability
Ref. ML18 .P9 in the Stamps Reading Room
Basic information and descriptions for U.S. and Canadian makers of musical instruments and accessories, as well as music publishers, software makers, and finance companies serving the industry.See also How can I create a list of companies by industry, location, and/or size? and Where can I get lists of fast growing companies?
- Careers, Associations and Events
-
Careers
HBS MBA students please see MBA Career & Professional Development.
HBS Alumni please see Alumni Career & Professional Development.From MBA Career Services (HBS only):
Showbizjobs.com
Postings from major entertainment companies such as Paramount, MTV Networks, and EMI Music Marketing. While many of the jobs posted are not geared to MBAs, and don't require graduate-level education, there are some jobs that are relevant.Vault Career Guide
The Media & Entertainment Guide contains information on media conglomerate relationships and specific issues related to deciding on a career in entertainment such as the role of education, working on the creative or business side, and working in New York or California.See also What resources can I use for networking?
Associations
National Association of Recording Merchandisers (NARM)
Serves as advocate for the common interests of merchandisers and distributors of music, sell-through video and entertainment software, industry, and public policy makers. Includes relevant industry reports in pdf format on DVD-video shipments, and the RIAA Consumer Profile report.National Music Publishers' Association (NMPA)
Includes an online newsletter, information on relevant legislation, copyright, licensing, and statistics. The site is also home to the Harry Fox Agency, Inc. (HFA), an information source, clearinghouse, and monitoring service for licensing musical copyrights.Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA)
Aims to protect intellectual property rights and the First Amendment rights of artists. Includes information on technology, legislation, censorship, piracy, Web licensing, and international trade. The Research and Data section contains market data available in pdf format including "Annual Manufactures' Unit Shipments," "Cost of a CD," (CD production), as well "Annual Consumer Purchasing Trends."See also Where can I find associations for an industry or profession?
Events
National Association of Recording Merchandisers - Events
Lists upcoming events including seminar series, summits, and their annual convention.National Music Publishers Association Annual Meeting
Annual meeting of the organization. Also holds West Coast membership events.See also How can I find conferences and trade shows for a given industry?
- Statistics
-
Recording Industry in Numbers
Check Harvard availability
Trend data over several years for over 70 music markets. Features video sales and company market shares. Top-selling albums worldwide, music sales ranking by value and volume, and a world overview.Music Market Statistics
From the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry. Overview of world retail sales of recorded music (audio and video). Provides sector analysis of music video market including key developments in DVD marketing, and DVD player penetration.Recording Industry Association of America: Key Statistics
Statistical summaries on U.S. and worldwide record sales, and consumers of recorded music, marketing reports, and consumer trends. - News and Journals
-
Billboard
Check Harvard availibility
VNU eMedia, Inc., published weekly
Keeps music and video retailers, radio programmers, and music fans up to date on what the public is buying.Loeb Music Library
This Harvard library carries periodicals, books, scores, and sound recordings on musicology, music theory, ethnomusicology, composition, and historical information.Music Week
Check Harvard availibility
CMP Information Limited, published weekly
International news coverage for the music retailer of the music industry.Music Trades
Check Harvard availibility
Monthly Music Trades Corp., published monthly
Monthly publication covering the music industry.See also Find articles for databases to search on the topic.
HBS Resources
- HBS Working Knowledge: Entertainment & Leisure
- HBS Faculty Interested in Entertainment
Related Guides
Custom Search
Search Web sites selected by HBS librarians.
