Medical Devices
- Overviews and Analysis
-
Encyclopedia of medical devices & instrumentation
This online work is an alphabetically organized compilation of articles describing critical aspects of medical devices and instrumentation to answer the question "What are the branches of medicine and how does technology assist each of them?" rather than "What are the branches of technology and how could each be used in medicine?" The practice of medicine that is unassisted by devices has been excluded.Eucomed
Brief overview of medical technology industry.Frost & Sullivan
Provides analyst reports on trends, issues, and market-related topics in areas of biotechnology, health care devices, medical devices, and more.MarketResearch.com Academic
Provides reports from several market research firms. Topics cover medical devices, biotechnology, and more.Medical Device Daily State of the Industry Report
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HD9994 .A1 M43 in the Stamps Reading Room
Provides overview of the industry and summary of analysis by market sectors.ScienceDirect
Provides current and historical overview articles, including many related to medical devices such as point-of-care devices, diagnostic devices, and other healthcare related devices. - Pipeline
-
CDRH Databases
Databases from the FDA's Center for Devices and Radiological Health covering guidance, pre-market approval, notification 501(k)s, registrations, and listings. Most of the databases are updated weekly or monthly.ClinicalTrials.gov
A service of the U.S. National Institutes of Health. Contains trials sponsored by the NIH, other federal agencies, and private industry. Studies listed in the database are conducted in 50 states and 157 countries.International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP)
Trial information from registries, e.g metaRegister of Controlled Trials, Chinese Clinical Trials Register, etc.PubMed with full text (MEDLINE) and MEDLINEplus
Resources that help place clinical trials in the context of patients' overall medical care. - Regulation
-
European Commission Medical Devices Sector
Information on the industry and regulatory process in the EU.Food & Drug Administration: Medical Devices
The regulatory body for the United States. Provides information on the approval process and related laws and regulations.NIH Office of Technology Transfer (OTT)
Information on licensing policies, process, opportunities, and more. - Companies
-
Start-up
Check Harvard availability
Published monthly. Provides reviews and articles on emerging medical ventures. A sample article might be, Levin, Stephen. "What Do Device Investors Want?" Start-Up. April 2008;113(4):30-35.See also How can I create a list of companies by industry, location, and/or size? and Where can I get lists of fast growing companies?
- Careers, Associations and Events
-
Careers
HBS MBA students please see MBA Career & Professional Development.
HBS Alumni please see Alumni Career & Professional Development.Medical DeviceLink
Provides news, information, employment and recruiting services, as well as collaborative opportunities for people who design, manufacture, and market medical devices.See also What resources can I use for identifying and networking with company employees and other people?
Associations
Advanced Medical Technology Association (AdvaMed)
For companies producing medical devices, diagnostic products and health information systems. Active members include medical technology firms worldwide.Massachusetts Medical Device Industry Council (MassMEDIC)
Medical device manufacturers and related companies in Massachusetts.Medical Device Manufacturers Association (MDMA)
Represents independent manufacturers of medical devices, diagnostic products, and health care information systems. Web site includes a Career Center with job postings as well as articles and reports.See also Where can I find associations for an industry or profession?
Events
The Massachusetts Medical Device Industry Council (MassMEDIC)
Events, publications,Job bank and more.See also How can I find conferences and trade shows for a given industry?
- News and Journals
-
Medical Device Business Week
Check Harvard availability
Provides information on patent filings, M&A deals, market trends, new product introductions, new contract announcements, and joint ventures.Medical Device Technology
Check Harvard availability
A journal that provides expert articles, interviews, regulatory updates, and developments on the design and manufacture of the medical devices market worldwide.Science-Business eXchange (SciBX)
Provides current analysis of the most promising scientific and technological innovations, often through a business perspective.See also Find articles for databases to search on the topic.
HBS Resources
Related Guides
Custom Search
Search Web sites selected by HBS librarians:
