Marketing Strategies & Channels
- Texts and Cases
-
Marketing Management
Check Harvard availability
HF5415.13 .K64 2009 in Stamps Reading Room -- Core Collection
A textbook. Browse for additional books in this area.Harvard Business School Cases
HBS Faculty publications on case method and information on HBS cases.. - Marketing Channels
-
BtoB
Covers all topics of business-to-business marketing such as business media trends, technology marketers best practices. Also includes a marketers resource guide.Journal of Marketing Channels
Check Harvard availability
Professional marketing journal focused on distribution systems, strategy, and management.Modern Distribution Management
Check Harvard availability
Trade magazine. The website (which does not have full text of articles) includes directories of distribution trade associations and of distributors and manufacturers.Statistical Fact Book
Check Harvard availability
Ref HF5410 .D5 in the Stamps Reading Room.
From the Direct Marketing Association. Includes statistics on buying habits, costs, trends, and environmental concerns in direct response advertising. Provides data on media (including direct mail, catalog, telephone, and television/electronic shopping), lists/databases, direct marketing management basics, customer service and fulfillment trends and international marketing.Multichannel Merchant
Check Harvard availability
Trade journal focuses on catalog, online, and retail sales channels. The web site includes the full text of articles grouped by category.Super Yellow Pages
Searchable by category, keyword, and geography. Useful in locating non-retail distributors for small businesses.Trade Shows Worldwide
Check Harvard availability
Ref. T394 .T717 in the Stamps Reading Room
Directory of trade shows, sponsors and organizers, convention facilities, and other service providers. - Marketing Research
-
GreenBook: The Guide for Buyers of Marketing Research Services
Search over 400 categories to find marketing research services by audience and markets. Companies listed range from Internet/online, advertising, brand and media research, to specialization in major industries such as financial services, healthcare, retail, technology and telecommunications.Journal of Marketing Research
Check Harvard availability
Academic journal focused on marketing research-related methods, techniques, and practices.Marketing Research Association
An association of practitioners. Website includes the Blue Book a database of research organizations, standards and other information. Parts of the site are available to members only.See also Where can I find market share information? and How can I find the advertising expenditures of a company?
- Careers, Associations and Events
-
Careers
HBS MBA students please see MBA Career & Professional Development.
HBS Alumni please see Alumni Career & Professional Development.Where can I find information on brand management?
See also What resources can I use for networking?
Associations
American Marketing Association
Information about publications, a career center including job listings, and a reference center for marketing information.Business Marketing Association
Resources for BtoB marketers and communicators including a Career Center and industry surveys and market research. Provides salary surveys and a monthly journal.Direct Marketing Association
A leading global trade association of business and nonprofit organizations using and supporting multichannel direct marketing tools and techniques.See also Where can I find associations for an industry or profession?.
Events
See also How can I find conferences and trade shows for a given industry?
- News and Journals
-
International Journal of Research in Marketing
Check Harvard availability
IJRM is a broad journal that aims to be at the forefront of the field and in various aspects of marketing. It presents research that is "novel, visionary or pathbreaking."Journal of International Marketing
Check Harvard availability
Covers international marketing practice and theory.Journal of Marketing
Check Harvard availability
Focuses on substantive issues in marketing and marketing management.Marketing Intelligence & Planning
Check Harvard availability
Focuses on how information gathered by researchers has been processed and translated into action plans. Many articles address marketing mix topics.Qualitative Market Research
Check Harvard availability
National, international, and cross-cultural perspectives of principles and practices in qualitative market research and its applications.Indexes and Abstracts
Web of Science
Scholarly publications from various disciplines including marketing.Social Science Research Network
Working papers from organizations worldwide.See also Find articles for databases to search on the topic.
