Marketing Strategies and Channels
Methods, Models, and Trends
This section focuses on studies of marketing management issues, trends, and marketing research methodologies and models.
Journal of Marketing Research (JMR)
American Marketing Association, published quarterly
Full text in Business Source Complete.
Academic journal focused on marketing research-related methods, techniques, and practices
Marketing: An Introduction
Gary Armstrong, Philip Kotler
Pearson/Prentice Hall, 2003
This textbook provides an introduction to marketing fundamentals.
Marketing Research
American Marketing Association, published quarterly
Full text in Business Source Complete.
Geared toward managers of marketing research activities; includes current methodology and issues, management concerns, and the most recent books and software.
Marketing Management
American Marketing Association, published quarterly
Full text in Business Source Complete.
Short articles on hot topics and trends in marketing.
Qualitative Market Research: An International Journal
MCB University Press, published quarterly
National, international, and cross-cultural perspectives of principles and practices in qualitative market research and its applications.
Marketing Strategies and Channels
Channels
This section covers selected resources on direct marketing, Internet marketing, non-retail, and small business marketing. For retail and wholesale marketing, see the Retail Guide.
Forrester
(HBS Intranet)
Research and analysis focusing on new media,internet, and more.
BtoB
Crain Communications, published monthly
BtoB's marketers resource guide, business media trends, technology marketers best Practices.
Statistical Fact Book
Direct Marketing Association, published annually
Ref HF5410 .D5 in print in Baker Library
Statistics on buying habits, costs, trends, and environmental concerns in direct response advertising; media (including direct mail, catalog, telephone, and television/electronic shopping); lists/databases; direct marketing management basics and customer service and fulfillment trends; and international marketing.
Super Yellow Pages
Searchable by category, keyword, and geography. Useful in locating non-retail distributors for small businesses.
Trade Shows Worldwide
Gale Research Inc., published annually
Ref T394 .T717
Directory of trade shows, sponsors and organizers, convention facilities, and other service providers.
Marketing Strategies and Channels
Market Share/Size
Global Market Information Database
Covers 350 markets in 207 countries with quantitative data on consumer lifestyles, retailing, countries, consumer markets and in-depth market analysis reports.
Tip: To find company market share, click “Keyword Search” and then “Companies and Market Share”
Mintel Reports
Provides market and consumer research reports across multiple international markets. Strong in consumer goods and food and beverage industries in American and European countries.
Special Issues
Useful for identifying special issues of industry trade journals that provide outlooks, surveys, and statistical reports.
Tip: It is not a full-text database. It is good for identifying sources on small industries' marketing information. Check the HOLLIS Catalog and Factiva to locate the journal you identify in Special Issues.
Sports Business Research Network (SBRNet)
Full-text news and market research. Subjects include sporting goods, distribution channels, consumer demographics, brand share, consumer market size, sporting goods imports, and sports sponsorship.
Market Share Reporter
Gale Research, published annually
Ref. HF5415.3 .M35 in print in Baker Library
U.S. market share data on companies, brands, products, and services.
See Analyst and Research Reports Databases for a list of major analyst report databases available via the Baker Library.
Tip: Analyst reports often include useful market data in addition to expert analysis.
Marketing Strategies and Channels
Practices and Cases
This section includes practices and cases on marketing expansion strategies.
Harvard Business School Cases
HBS Faculty and Research
Access to articles on the case method and information on HBS cases.
Tip: Purchase cases at the HBS Publishing site.
Best Practices/Marketing Strategy
American Marketing Association
Tutorials, articles, and Web-casts on marketing strategy.
Tip: Register for free e-mail alerts.
Journal of International Marketing
American Marketing Association, published quarterly
Full text coverage after Jan 2002 issue in Factiva. Type “sc=INL” in the free-text search function.
Covers international marketing practice and theory.
Marketing Intelligence & Planning
MCB University Press, publishes seven issues per year
Focuses on how information gathered by researchers has been processed and translated into action plans. Many articles address marketing mix topics.
Marketing Strategies and Channels
Research and Industry Associations and Services
American Marketing Association
Information about publications, a career center including job listings, and a reference center for marketing information.
Business Marketing Association
Resources for B2B marketers and communicators including CareerLink and Learning Place. Provides salary surveys and a monthly journal.
GreenBook: Worldwide Directory of Marketing Research Companies and Services
American Marketing Association, published annually
Ref. HF 5415.2 .G72
Indexed by company name, services provided, market/industry specialization, location, and key personnel.