Sign in to Baker Library
Overviews and Analysis
Eurostat - Tourism Overview
Annual tourism statistics for European countries including capacity and occupancy of hotels, tourism trips, employment in the tourism industry, etc.
IBISWorld
Industry research reports for select US states, UK, Australia, Canada, and China.
Look for reports on topics such as Tourism, Hotels & Resorts, Spas, and Accommodation (as in Bed and Breakfast or Holiday).
Mintel Reports
U.S. consumer market studies and primary and secondary data analysis for topics including food, beverage, apparel, beauty, retail, and travel.
Look for reports with title words including vacation, travel, hotel, spa, and leisure.
Passport
Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide from Euromonitor International.
In-depth consumer market analysis, statistics, and top industry players in over 200 countries. To browse content, select Industries > Services > Travel.
PricewaterhouseCoopers - Hospitality and Leisure
PwC publishes US Hospitality Directions on a quarterly basis. The reports have a near-term outlook for US hotels with data from leading hotel market data provider, STR Global.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.
Best for a broad industry overview. Click "Industry Surveys" from the main menu, then select desired industry from drop-down menu. Relevant categories include Passenger Airlines; and Hotels, Restaurants & Leisure.
UNWTO Tourism Data Dashboard
This data dashboard from the United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) provides data on inbound and outbound tourism at the global, regional, and national levels; and tourism contribution to GDP, accommodation capacity and demand, and employment.
See also this Fast Answer:
Companies
Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards
Lists of the top rated hotels, cruise lines, and spas, and more -- as voted by the readers of Travel + Leisure.
See also these Fast Answers:
Company databases: which database to choose?
Target List: screen for companies by industry, location, and size
Careers, Associations and Events
American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA)
Provides industry news, information about AHLA initiatives and events, and select data and resources, some of which is limited to members.
European Travel Commission
Publishes an annual European Tourism: Trends & Prospects report.
Hospitality Sales & Marketing Association International
Some industry news and event calendar are freely available.
International Hotel & Restaurant Association (IH&RA)
Organization of national industry associations, institutions, operators, and owners.
National Restaurant Association
Education & Resources for operations, Information about Issues & Advocacy and Events. Research & Media provides access to national and state statistics. Freely available state fact sheets. Check HOLLIS entry for "State of the Restaurant Industry" reports, some of which are available online.
U.S. Travel Association: Events
Events sponsored by the U. S. Travel Association. Also includes some industry statistics.
Vault
In-depth industry guides including internship information, career advice and user-generated content on companies and career issues.
Hospitality: includes a career guide on hospitality.
World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC)
Provides reports on the travel and tourism industry worldwide.
See also this Fast Answer:
News and Journals
Cornell Hospitality Quarterly
Research articles address new management principles, practical advice, analysis of trends, and recommendations for career development.
Check Harvard Availability
Hospitality Design
Topics include architects, restaurants, interior design, sustainable development and industry trends.
Check Harvard Availability
Hospitality Net
A variety of content including hotel industry news, hotel announcements, product descriptions, and event calendar.
Hotel News Now
Provides news on the global hospitality and hotel industry. Blog articles also are provided. Other parts of the site require a subscription.
Nation's Restaurant News
A variety of information covering the foodservice industry including restaurants, restaurant chains, marketing, operations, and events. Content is divided into menu options for News, Podcasts/Videos, Consumer Trends, Menus, Operations, Marketing, and Finance.
The Data & Research section includes partial information about the Top 500 Restaurants (annual ranking of largest chains by domestic systemwide sales) without a subscription in the form of a slideshow. A selection of key insight articles also is included.
QSR Magazine
News on the quick service restaurant industry. The QSR 50 reports total sales to AUVs to unit counts and growth for the highest-earning restaurant chains. The report is freely available after providing brief personal information.