Harvard Business School

Baker Library | Bloomberg Center

 

Hedge Funds

About Hedge Funds

Perspectives from regulatory agencies and the business community.

Implications of the Growth of Hedge Funds
Report of the Staff of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, September 2003
This paper provides a thorough definition of hedge funds, the background of their development, the different forms of hedge funds available, who manages them, and how they're regulated.

Hedging Your Bets: A Heads Up on Hedge Funds and Funds of Hedge Funds
U.S. Securities and Exchange COmmission
Office of Investor Education and Assistance
A primer on hedge funds for the investor considering this type of investment.

A Guide to the Language of the Futures Industry
Commodity Futures Trading Commission
Many of the terms included in this glossary are used in the hedge fund sector.

The Difference between Hedge Funds and Mutual Funds
Investment Company Institute, April 2001

The Hedge Fund Center
"Basics" section of this site provides useful background information on hedge funds.

Hedge Funds with Style
Stephen J. Brown, William N. Goetzmann
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER), March 2001
This paper studies the monthly return history of hedge funds from 1989 through January 2000 to review performance of various styles of hedge fund management.

Hedge Funds

Directories

Some information is available in Bloomberg and CareerSearch.

Eurekahedge
Available from a workstation in the Financial Databases Room
Profiles hedge funds and funds of funds in North America, Europe, Latin America, and Asia. One can screen on fund location, investment type, performance and other criteria. Fund indices and other aggregate information is available

Nelson's Directory of Investment Managers
Nelson Publications, published annually. Also in print in Baker Library.
Ref. HG 4907 .N32
Has an "Investment Specialties-Investment Strategies" index in volume 3, which includes "Hedging."

The U.S. Offshore Funds Directory
U.S. Offshore Funds Directory, Inc., published annually. In print in Baker Library.
Ref. HG4530 .U24
Provides profiles of offshore hedge funds with net assets in excess of $25 million.

SEC Investment Adviser Public Disclosure (IAPD)
Web site provides access to registration documents filed by more than 9,000 registered investment advisers. Although not very easy to read, these documents, filed electronically with state securities administrators or the SEC, provide information about each adviser's business, a list of funds it manages, and the asset amount of each fund. The registration documents also include any disciplinary problems the firm may have had in the past ten years.

Hedge Funds

Trade Journals

Alpha
Institutional Investor
Bi-Monthly coverage of what's happening in the Hedge Funds sector.
Follow publications link for Alpha magazine.

Hedge Funds World
Free newsletter with required online subscription.

Institutional Investor
Full-text (without rankings) available in ABI/Inform
League Tables: Top Hedge Fund Manager Survey, The Hedge Fund 100, The 50 Biggest Fund of Hedge Funds, The Fund of Hedge Funds 50.
Follow publications link for American or international editions.

Journal of Alternative Investments
Institutional Investor
The official publication of the Chartered Alternative Investment Analyst (CAIA) Association, and a leading source of new research and analysis in the field of alternative investments.

MARHedge Newsletter
Full-text (without rankings) available in LexisNexis
A qualitative and quantitative information source on hedge funds, funds of funds, and managed futures. This newsletter delivers news on current developments; analytical feature articles; in-depth profiles of funds and managers; performance information on more than 4,700 funds and some 900 trading advisors; and absolute and risk-adjusted performance rankings for up to 10 years.

Private Banker International
This publication on the global private banking sector often includes articles on hedge funds. Full text is available in Factiva.
Tip: To locate this publication in Factiva, type "sn=PRIVBI" in the search box.

Articles on Hedge Funds from ABI/Inform
(Current HBS only)

Factiva in particular includes a large quantity of major financial publications, search on the Industry Index term "Hedge Funds."

Hedge Funds

Associations and Organizations

Asia Hedge Fund Association
An not-for-profit international association of hedge fund managers, service providers, and investors. Web site includes articles and information on the hedge fund industry.

HBS Investment Club—HBS Alpha Hedge Fund
The club's homepage has a link to information on a student-run hedge fund.

Hedge Fund Association
An international nonprofit association of hedge fund managers, service providers, and investors. Web site includes articles and information on the hedge fund industry available for free to the public.

Hedge Fund Marketing Alliance (HFMA)

Managed Funds Association (MFA)
This association is for investment managers in hedge funds, futures, and other alternative investments. Most information on the site is restricted to members—information on current regulations and the industry response to them is accessible without a password.

The Alternative Investment Research Centre (AIRC)
Serves as a clearinghouse for data and research ideas between the alternative investment industry and academia from the Cass Business School, City University, London.

Hedge Funds

Indices & Analysis

A number of different indices are available to measure hedge fund performance. Below are some of the most often listed indices. Due to the wide variety of hedge fund strategies and players, these indices follow a diverse range of methodologies in the way they track the market.

Bloomberg Financial Markets
Bloomberg Academic and Bloomberg Professional

EDHEC-Risk
A site that is aimed at asset management practitioners, contains research on hedge funds and data on hedge fund indices. Free registration is required to see much of the site.

Eurekahedge Hedge Funds
A database that provides descriptions and returns for many classes of hedge funds. Index information is also available on their public website. Click on indices to get data on aggregate hedge fund performance. Most of the rest of the site requires a subscription for access.

Hennessee Hedge Fund Indices
Includes data going back ten years. The Hennessee Group, a hedge fund consulting firm, generates this data.

Greenwich Alternative Investments
The firm provides research, indexing, investment management and advisory services. Hedge fund performance indices for various markets are available on the web site. Free registration is required for historical index returns and news releases.

Hedge Funds

Careers & Networking

HBS MBA Career Services—Financial Sector
Features historical HBS MBA salary information, interview questions, and HBS-friendly companies.

Bloomberg
Six dedicated workstations in the Exchange and one in Baker's Financial Databases room.
Search jobs in many parts of the financial sector by title and geographic location.
Tip: Type "JOBS" (all caps) and click on Go to get to job listings page.

Glocap Search
Investment professional positions in private equity, leveraged buyout, venture capital, hedge fund and asset management firms, from analyst to general partner. Jobs in all parts of the U.S., Canada, and in major cities in Europe and Asia. Registration required.

The Hedge Fund Compensation Report
Institutional Investor News, 2005
On Reserve -- Inquire at Service Desk
In-depth compensation information on the hedge fund industry.

Hedge Me : Insider's Guide: U.S. Hedge Fund Job Opportunities
Claude Schwab, 2003
HG 4530 .S39 2003
On Reserve -- Inquire at Service Desk
Career Collection
Both copies for in-library use only.

Vault Guide - Hedge Funds
Information on careers in the Hedge Funds sector.

 
 
Baker Library | Bloomberg Center, Harvard Business School, Soldiers Field, Boston, MA 02163 , 617-495-6040