Baker Library | Bloomberg Center

Government Industry

Directories, Rankings, and Overviews

International

Europa World Year Book
(Harvard users only)
Information on countries and territories worldwide. Social, political, and economic data are provided as well as directory listings for government and politics, society and media, and business and commerce.

Statesman's Year-Book
St. Martin's Press, published annually
Ref. JA51 .S7
Brief information on countries and territories worldwide. Includes statistical highlights and descriptive characteristics as well as information on the constitution and government, recent elections, and the current administration.

Munisource.org
Don Smeltzer
Links to municipal government Web sites worldwide. Also includes links to information by topic such as human resource policies, transportation, and land use.


United States—Federal

Congressional Quarterly Encyclopedia of American Government
(Harvard users only)
CQ Press
Essays and articles divided into four content areas—Congress, Elections, Presidency, and Supreme Court—answer common questions about the democratic system in America.

Staff Directories
(Harvard users only)
CQ Press
Congressional Staff Directory
Provides contact and brief biographical information of members of Congress.
Federal Staff Directory
Provides contact and biographical information for officials and staff of the executive branch and independent and quasi-official agencies.
Judicial Staff Directory
Provides contact and biographical information for staff of U.S. national, federal and state courts including judges and clerks.

THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet
(Harvard users only)
Library of Congress
Provides federal legislative information including text, summaries, status, and roll calls of bills before Congress, full text of the Congressional Record, and committee information. Also includes information about Congress, legislative agencies, executive and judicial branches, as well as a primer on the legislative process.

CQ Almanac Plus
CQ Press, published annually
Ref. JK1 .C663
Provides a review and analysis of events of Congress. Includes a complete set of all roll call votes, analysis of key votes, list of public laws enacted, and text of key speeches. This publication is complemented by Congress and the Nation, published every four years, which compiles information on government activities of the presidential term.

United States Government Manual
Office of the Federal Register, published annually
Ref. JK421 .A3
Provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. Information about boards, commissions, and committees is included.

United States—State and Local

State Capital Universe
(Harvard users only)
Track reports of proposed bills and regulations and find the full text of proposed and enacted state laws and regulations. Research state issues in state newspapers of record and other publications. Government directory information, state constitutions, and the Martindale Hubbel Law Digest also are included.

Almanac of American Politics
National Journal Group, published annually
Ref. JK271 .A4
Introduction gives general overview of the political scene. Profiles congressional districts and members of Congress including voting records and ratings of politicians by outside agencies.

Book of the States
Council of State Governments, published annually
Ref. JK2403 .B6
Provides information about the inner workings of state government. Covers a variety of topics including finance, budget, taxes, legislative compensation, election procedures, and health and welfare reform.

Mergent Municipal & Government Manual
FIS, published annually
Ref. HG4931 .M58
Intended for fixed income investors in government bonds. Contains descriptions and data on individual bonds and issuers, as well as state and some local revenue and spending information.

State and Local Government on the Net
Piper Resources
Directory of links to thousands of government sponsored and controlled resources on the Internet by state and topic.

Stateline.org
Pew Center on the States
News on state government, background on major issues affecting states, such as healthcare, welfare reform, and utility deregulation, profiles of individual states and state governments, events, and numerous statistics.

 
 
Baker Library | Bloomberg Center, Harvard Business School, Soldiers Field, Boston, MA 02163 , 617-495-6040