Financial Services and Investment Banking
- Overviews and Analysis
-
We have several good books on investment banking which can be found in the HOLLIS catalog. (Use the "Refine" panel on the right to limit to the last three years.)
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
Best place to go for a broad overview of an industry. See the sections on "Financial Services: Diversified" and "Investment Services" in the Industries section.Mergerstat Review
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HD 2741 .M48 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual statistics and information on publicly announces mergers, acquisitions, an divestitures. Provides statistical analysis of activity and data by industry and geography and includes twenty-five years of summary statistics and largest announcements in history.See also:
- Companies
-
America's Corporate Finance Directory
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG 4057 .A167 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual profiles of large-cap U.S. public and private companies and large subsidiaries of foreign companies. Information includes key executives, financial data, and listings of outside service firms. Index included for individuals by financial responsibility.Directory of M&A Intermediaries
List of Investment Banks
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HD 2746.5 .D495 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual directory of investment banks, business brokers, law firms, and other intermediaries worldwide. Contains articles on the current state of the mergers and acquisitions sector and rankings.
A convenient list with links to the Wikipedia entries. The entries generally link to the banks' Web sites.Money Market Directory of Pension Funds and Their Investment Managers
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG 4509 .D56 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual directory of funds and investment managers. Includes rankings by assets and funds under management. Investment managers are listed by type of activity.Standard & Poor's Security Dealers of North America
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG4907 .S42 in the Stamps Reading Room
Semiannual directory of brokers, distributors, underwriters, and dealers listed geographically. Includes separate listing for foreign offices, discontinued firms, and major worldwide exchanges and associations.See also
- Careers, Associations and Events
-
Careers
HBS MBA students please see MBA Career & Professional Development.
HBS Alumni please see Alumni Career & Professional Development.From MBA Career & Professional Development (HBS only):
- Investment Banking 101 Presentation
- Investment Management 101 Presentation
- IB Beyond the Job Bank Handout
- IM Beyond the Job Bank Handout
Bloomberg Academic and Bloomberg Professional
Search for jobs in many parts of the financial sector by title and geographic location. Type "JOBS" and hit the GO button.Directory of Executive & Professional Recruiters
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HF 5549.5.R44 D58 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual publication identifying recruiters in various specialties and industries. Industries include: Finance, Commercial Banking, Investment Banking, Securities and Commodities Brokers, Venture Capital, Mutual/Hedge Funds, and Other Financial Services.Glocap
Locate investment professional positions in private equity, leveraged buyout, venture capital, hedge fund and asset management firms, from analyst to general partner. Jobs in all parts of the U.S., Canada, and in major cities in Europe and Asia. For list of available Glocap career publications check Harvard availability.Vault Online Career Library
Information on careers and interviewing in leveraged finance, investment banking, investment management, private wealth management, and sales and trading.WetFeet Insider Guide: Careers in Investment Banking
Check Harvard availability
Career Collection HG4930.5 .W48 in the Stamps Reading Room
Provides profiles and background information on the top investment banking companies, job opportunities, and information on the recruiting process. See related WetFeet guides nearby, e.g., Beat the street: The WetFeet insider guide to investment banking interviews.See also What resources can I use for networking?
Associations
CFA Institute
Certifying organization for Chartered Financial Analysts (CFA). Much of the site is limited to members, but includes information on educational programs and events.Global Association of Risk Professionals
Much of the site is limited to members, but includes information on events and jobs.Investment Adviser Association (IAA)
Membership includes investment advisor firms that work with a wide range of institutional and individual clients. ICAA promotes and represents the profession before legislative and regulatory bodies.Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA)
SIFMA is a trade association for securities firms. Site includes a list of members with links to their home pages, articles, and issue briefs.See also Where can I find associations for an industry or profession?
Events
CFA Institute Events
Annual conference and other professional programs offered throughout the world by Chartered Financial Analysts Institute.Financial Industry Regulatory Authority
Information on annual conference and other educational programs.See also How can I find conferences and trade shows for a given industry?
- News and Journals
-
Buyouts
Check Harvard availability
Bimonthly newsletter for managed buyouts, leveraged acquisitions, and special situations. Quarterly coverage of deals, funds raised, and league tables.Deal.com in Deal Pipeline (The)
Tracks recent news and statistics on M&A, venture capital, and private equity globally.FT.com In Depth: Investment Banking
Collection of analysis and news from the Financial Times.Institutional Investor.com
U.S. and International editions provide news from the financial and investment services industry. Includes rankings often referenced by professionals in the financial sector. For Rankings, follow "Publications" link for either edition then look for link to "Rankings Archive". For articles from older issues check Harvard availability.Investment Dealers' Digest
Check Harvard availability
Weekly articles on issues of interest to the industry as well as listings of new equity and debt issues and securities in registration. Reports many league tables and rankings often referenced by professionals in the financial sector.Journal of Portfolio Management
Check Harvard availability
One of the major journals on institutional investing. Published quarterly.Mergers & Acquisitions
Check Harvard availability
Monthly publication reporting on pending deals and corporate restructuring. Lists deal announcements and completed deals by industry. Good for overviews of M&A's by industry and topic. February issue includes league tables and summary of previous year's M&A deals.Pensions & Investments
Check Harvard availability
Biweekly publication for the money management sector covering funds, markets, technology, and regulation. Includes annual listings such as The P&I 1,000 Largest Retirement Plans by total assets and the Data Book for various year-end rankings.See also Find articles for databases to search on the topic.
HBS Resources
- HBS Working Knowledge: Finance
- HBS Faculty Interested in Financial Intermediaries
- HBS Faculty Interested in Investment Banking
- HBS Faculty Interested in Investment Management
Related Guides
- Career, Company & Industry
- Financial Markets
- Hedge Funds
- Real Estate
- Venture Capital & Private Equity
Custom Search
Search sites selected by HBS librarians.
News
