Financial Markets
A great starting place for research on financial markets; this guide points to the best resources available to the HBS community.
- Overviews and Analysis
-
Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG151 .D69 in Stamps Reading Room
Detailed dictionary and explanations of all aspects of the financial services sector, as well as historical financial data, and references to contacts.Handbook of Finance
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG173 .H327 in Stamps Reading Room
Overview of field of finance. Divided into 3 volumes: Financial Market and Instruments; Investment Management and Financial Management; and Valuation, Financial Modeling, and Quantitative Tools.Handbook of Financial Instruments
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG4521 .H2365 in Stamps Reading Room
Explains in detail the wide variety of financial instruments available, how they are used to raise capital, tracked, and analyzed by the financial markets. - Exchanges
-
Handbook of World Stock, Derivative & Commodity Exchanges
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG4551 .H319 in the Stamps Reading Room
Guide to the world's stock, derivative, and commodity exchanges.Investment Company Institute
National association of U.S. investment companies. Provides data and research on investors and retirement plans. Report titles include "Equity and Bond Ownership in America" and "Characteristics of Mutual Fund Investors." Its "Investment Company Fact Book" provides an annual overview of mutual funds, shareholder information, and economic trends.Standard & Poor's Global Stock Markets Factbook
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG4551 .G56 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual factbook provides information on the performance of exchanges and markets in developed and emerging-market countries.World Federation of Exchanges
Association for publicly regulated exchanges. Annual and monthly statistics of the world's exchanges on equity markets, bond markets, market indicators, emerging markets, market capitalization, derivatives and exchange rates. Some data back to 1990. - Market Data
-
Bloomberg Academic and Bloomberg Professional
Markets covered include equities, corporate and government bonds, commodities, preferred stocks, mortgages, interest rates, and currency exchanges. Hit the yellow key for market sector of interest then hit GO for a top level menu of commands.Capital IQ
Profiles and data on public and private companies, investment firms, and capital transactions. Provides screening capabilities. The "Market Analysis" tab provides quick access to summary information by industries and geographies.Datastream
Global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, futures, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials, and economic data. Great source for downloading time series. Some data is also available remotely through Thomson ONE.Global Financial Data
Time-series database with data on stock markets, stock prices, exchange rates, interest rates, bond indicies and yields, indexes, commodities, and economic data.WRDS – Wharton Research Data Service
WRDS is a warehouse of financial, accounting, banking, economics, and corporate governance databases accessible through a single Web-based interface.See also:
- Statistics
-
EIU.com: Country Finance
Analysis includes an overall market assessment and information on the monetary system, banking and other financial institutions, securities markets, investment instruments, financing, and a list of key organizations.Fact Book
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG4910 .S3938 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual fact book from the Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association provides aggregate statistics on ETFs, closed-end, and open-end funds. Issues back to 2005 are also available from the Investment Company Institute.Federal Reserve Board
Statistics and Historical Data provides releases tracked by the markets such as "Flow of Funds." The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) provides historical business and economic statistics for the U.S. economy; in some cases back to the late 1800's. Use FRASER with data contained in the Federal Reserve Economic Database (FRED II), to create uninterrupted data series.Ibbotson SBBI Classic Yearbook: Market Results for Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG4501 .S7949 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual publication containing historical averages for various types of investments such as total returns, and index values for large and small company stocks.ISI Emerging Markets
Full-text news, financial statements, industry analyses, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information derived directly from local information providers. - News and Journals
-
ABA Banking Journal
Check Harvard availability
Produced by the American Bankers Association, publishes articles on business and societal issues.CreditWeek
Check Harvard availability
Weekly publication from Standard & Poor's with news summaries, analytical articles, new ratings, a credit watch list, and a list of entities removed from credit watch. Recent issues available in Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage under "S&P Publication Search."Federal Reserve Bulletin
Provides research articles and legal developments.Financial Analysts Journal
Check Harvard availability
Scholarly articles for practitioners in the investment community on financial theory, practice, and changes to the finance industry.Institutional Investor Journals
Several publications targeted at professional money managers covering fund management techniques, models, and case studies in titles such as The Journal of Trading and The Journal of Portfolio Management.Outlook
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HG4501 .S722 in the Stamps Reading Room
Weekly publication from Standard & Poor's with buy/sell/hold advice, a stock recommend list, updated S&P rankings of star performers, and occasional articles on specific investment products such as building a mutual fund portfolio.See also Find articles for databases to search on the topic.
