Business & the Environment
- Academic Papers
Harvard University:
- Belfer Center: Environment and Climate Change
Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs (John F. Kennedy School of Government) provides a rich selection of publications and speeches on environment and climate change topics. Some of the titles are in full text while some are with abstract only. - Digital Access to Scholarship At Harvard (DASH): Climate
DASH is a central, open-access repository of research by members of the Harvard community. The link leads to a set of articles from a pre-defined search. Some of the articles are full-text free. Get a different set of articles by conducting a keyword search in the database. - Harvard University Center for the Environment
Provides News and Faculty by Research Areas
Other Universities:
- MIT
Includes News/research, updates in Center for Global Change Science (CGCS), and a list of research labs, centers and programs in areas of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences - Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies
Provides News, Faculty & Research, Yale F&ES Publication Series, and list of research topics - Stanford University School of Earth Sciences
Provides News and Research Areas - University of Michigan School of Natural Resources and Environment
Provides Faculty and Research Overview, Recent Publications from Faculty, Alumni, and Articles by Faculty
- Belfer Center: Environment and Climate Change
- Analysis and Research
-
Bloomberg Academic or Bloomberg Professional
Bloomberg includes an Environmental and Social Governance Function (ESG). To access the Bloomberg ESG menu that includes news, research, indices, energy and emissions regulations, screening and analytics, type ESGX and then press the green GO key.Frost & Sullivan
Frost & Sullivan provides research reports on industrial processes and market trends in many manufacturing industries. Environment & Building Technologies is one of the services to which HBS subscribes. For best results use the Advanced Search and select "owned" in the ownership filter.McKinsey- Sustainability and Resource Productivity
The site brings together McKinsey articles and reports on sustainability and climate change, including some from the McKinsey Quarterly (Free registration is required.)Verdantix
It provides data, analysis and advice on sustainable business in the US and UK. Information categories include cleantech & smart grid, energy & carbon management, policy & regulatory analysis, sustainable business strategies, sustainable real estate & cities, and more.More reports selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
- Climate Change
-
Climate Change Guide | A Guide to Information and Disinformation
From the Society of Environmental Journalists, the guide includes sections on Basic Science, Outstanding Coverage, Regional Climate Information Resources (including sources for climate impacts & implications),Reporting on Climate Change, among many other subjects.The Climate Group
The Climate Group is an independent, not-for-profit organization working internationally with government and business leaders to advance smart policies and technologies to cut global emissions and accelerate a clean industrial revolution. The Publications section features reports on policy, technologies, consumer attitudes and other topics of interest to businesses.Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
The IPCC prepares comprehensive Assessment Reports of scientific, technical and socio-economic information relevant for the understanding of human induced climate change, potential impacts of climate change and options for mitigation and adaptation.Pew Center on Global Climate Change
Good analysis on climate change and reports on corporate strategies that address climate change.United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
Brings together official documents, reports, data and news regarding the UN conferences on climate change.Wiley Online Library: climate change
Includes Overviews -- provide a broad and non-technical treatment of important topics suitable for advanced students and for researchers without a strong background in the field; Advanced Reviews -- examine key areas of research in a citation-rich format suitable for researchers and advanced students; and Focus Articles -- present specific real-world issues, examples and implementations. New and updated reviews are added every month.More climate change sites selected by HBS librarians and shared on Delicious.
- Companies
-
Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP)
The CDP is an independent not-for-profit organization holding the largest database of primary corporate climate change information in the world. Includes sustainability reports from thousands of organizations from around the world.CorporateRegister.com
Free registration allows users to search for companies social responsibility reports.MSCI iRatings
A suite of environmental, social, and governance (ESG) research and analysis products from MSCI. Includes Carbon Beta -- ratings and analysis of corporate climate change risk exposure and management, including company-specific GHG emissions footprint data and compliance cost scenarios.Newsweek - Green Rankings
Companies on each list-the U.S. 500 and the Global 100-are ranked by their overall Green Score. This score is derived from three component scores: the Environmental Impact Score (EIS), the Green Policies Score (GPS), and the Reputation Survey Score (RSS), weighted at 45 percent, 45 percent, and 10 percent, respectively.SustainableBusiness.com
Features global news on sustainable business, a jobs board and database of companies.
- News and Articles
-
News Aggregators and databases
Environment Index
(HU PIN or authorized Baker visitor)
Indexes articles in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.Greenwire
Check Harvard availability
Published weekdays, synthesizes news from a variety of sources on environmental issues.Lexis/Nexis Academic
To access the special subject area devoted to environmental studies click on Subject Areas on the navigation sidebar and choose Environmental Studies. Covers environmental news and environmental law as well as EPA actions.See also Find articles for databases to search on the topic.
Journals
Business Strategy and the Environment
Check Harvard availability
Provides results of research on corporate environmental management tools, particular industry sectors and responses of business to contemporary environmental issues.Ecological Economics
Check Harvard availability
Publishes articles on environmental incentives and policy.Environment & Energy Daily
Check Harvard availability
Attempts to cover everything that happens on Capitol Hill related to environmental and energy policy, including: hearings, schedules, appropriations, legislative status, and related documents. Includes a searchable archive of stories since 1996.Journal of Cleaner Production
Check Harvard availability
Research articles on "clean" processes and technologies.
- Non-Government Organizations
-
Ceres: Investors and Environmentalists for Sustainable Prosperity
A national network of investors, environmental organizations and other public interest groups working with companies and investors to address sustainability challenges such as global climate change. The Resources section includes reports on risks of climate change for investors, and analysis of environmental impact in the beverage, chemicals, electric power, food, homebuilders, mining, oil & gas, and semiconductor industries.World Business Council for Sustainable Development
Case studies and reports in the areas of Energy & Climate, Development, Business Role, and Ecosystems. The site includes a database of patents that have been donated to enable the world community to reduce waste, pollution, global warming, and energy demands.
- Government Organizations and Inter-Government Organizations
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The U.S. government agency with oversight of the environment. The site includes information on science and technology related to the environment, laws and regulations, and local environmental data.United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
The site includes reports and information on programs related to Climate change, Diseasters and conflicts, Ecosystem Management, Environmental governance, Harmful substances,Resource efficiency and other areas.
Custom Search
Search within the web sites in this guide and others selected by HBS librarians:See also:
- How can I get prices and basic information on carbon emissions trading?.
- The Renewable Resources section of the Energy guide.
- Baker Library's Environment bundle on Delicious.
