Entertainment
- Overviews and Analysis
-
Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook
Check Harvard availability
Ref. TK 6540 .B77 in the Stamps Reading Room
Sections include industry overview, television, cable, radio, satellites and other carriers, programming services, technological services, brokers and professional services, associations, events, education and awards, and government agencies. The directory lists television and radio stations by state. The section on television includes the Nielsen DMA Market Atlas.Global Entertainment and Media Outlook
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HF 5439 .M267 G66 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual publication that identifies key trends and developments affecting the entertainment industry and relates them to spending forecasts across media and entertainment segments (e.g., television, recorded music, video games, etc.) in different geographies.Plunkett's Entertainment and Media Industry Almanac
Check Harvard availability
Ref. TK6630 .P58 in the Stamps Reading Room
Annual publication with analysis of trends affecting film and video, radio and television, cable and satellite, magazine and books, and online publishing. Provides industry contacts, Web sites, and career information.Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Best for a broad overview. Covers industry trends, forecasts, major players and market share data, key ratios, and statistics. Click on "Industries" in the top navigation bar, and select from the "Industry Surveys" drop-down menu (starting with "Movies and Home Entertainment" or "Broadcasting & Cable"). - Companies
-
Television & Cable Factbook Online
TV market rankings, programming carried, fees for installation and monthly service, full programming service, executives' names and titles, franchise fees, system start dates, franchise, and expiration dates. The Ownership section contains entries for more than 1400 MSOs. The Media Services section includes details on key industry organizations and suppliers.World Radio TV Handbook: Directory of Global Broadcasting
Check Harvard availability
Ref. TK6540 .W67 in the Stamps Reading Room
Three focus areas: Features lists equipment reviews, broadcasting predictions and radio-related articles; Directory is further divided into National Radio, International Radio, and TV services; and Country entires includes local time, principal language, population, number of radio sets, contact information of the government agency administering broadcasting, and station listings.See also How can I create a list of companies by industry, location, and/or size? and Where can I get lists of fast growing companies?
- Careers, Associations and Events
-
Careers
HBS MBA students please see MBA Career & Professional Development.
HBS Alumni please see Alumni Career & Professional Development.From MBA Career Services (HBS only):
Entertainmentcareers.net
Site has job postings at all levels. Database allows for searching by category including executive positions and MBAs.MediaBistro.com
Web site directed toward editors, writers, producers, graphic designers, book publishers, and others in industries including magazines, television, film, radio, newspapers, book publishing, online media, advertising, PR, and design. Focus is on job opportunities, projects and news, career skills, and opportunies to showcase work.Vault Online Career Library
Click on "Download Guides" and use "Industry Search" to find reports on a range of entertainment industries including film, broadcasting and cable, and music.See also What resources can I use for identifying and networking with company employees and other people?
Associations
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
Best known for the Academy Awards, this organization is also the sponsor of the Academy Foundation, which oversees educational and cultural activities for the motion picture industry. Includes an events calendar, information about the Academy's Margaret Herrick Library and the Academy Film Archive, press releases, and historical and background information.Independent Film & Television Alliance (IFTA)
Trade association for the independent film and television industry representing independent producers and distributors of motion pictures worldwide. Includes information about their annual conference (The American Film Market), market analysis, and industry trends.Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA)
The MPAA and its counterpart, International MPA , represent producers and distributors of motion pictures. Includes a chronology of recent legislation affecting the motion picture industry, and summary statistics on movie viewing.National Association of Broadcasters (NAB)
Features sections on legal and regulatory affairs, science and technology, market information such as a 10-year history of Nielsen and Arbitron diary response rates, and current industry news. Members include representatives of radio and television stations and networks; associate members include producers of equipment and programs.National Cable & Telecommunications Association (NCTA)
Provides historical background describing the cable television industry and links to cable programmers, associations, and trade magazine sites. Members include franchised cable operators, programmers, and cable networks.See also Where can I find associations for an industry or profession?
Events
Annual International Film & TV Finance Summit
Brings together a senior roster of film finance professionals, commercial and investment bankers, independent producers, studio executives and legal, tax and accounting advisors to share practical experience and technical knowledge on the complex issues involved in financing film and television productions.American Film Market
Industry leaders come from over 70 countries and include acquisition and development executives, agents, attorneys, directors, distributors, festival directors, financiers, film commissioners, producers, writers, and the press.Broadcastconferences.com
Worldwide events and conferences in the broadcast media industry.NCTA Industry Conferences
Listings from the National Cable & Telecommunications Association.See also How can I find conferences and trade shows for a given industry?
- Statistics
-
Communications Industry Forecast
Check Harvard availability
Ref. P87 .V471 in the Stamps Reading Room
Forecast relates historical spending patterns with the key market forces driving industry growth in deriving more than 150 revenue, unit, growth, and market share projections for the media and communications industry.eMarketer
Includes statisics, reports and analysis on the Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies, and international market information for media usage.
Entertainment Industry Economics: A Guide for Financial Analysis
Check Harvard availability
Core Collection PN 1590.F55 V6 in the Stamps Reading Room
Covers the economics of movies, TV, and music, admission cycles, prices, production starts and capital, releases and inventories, and market share factors.Hollywood Stock Exchange
A prediction market for the entertainment industry. Get the buzz on yet to be released films. - News and Journals
-
Broadcasting & Cable
Check Harvard availability
Weekly magazine for the broadcast and cable television, radio, satellite, and interactive multimedia industries.Daily Variety
Check Harvard availability
Breaking news in film, television, theater, music, video, and new media. Offers in-depth reporting on deals, rights, property, finance and banking, law, government, regulatory issues, marketing, and promotion.Hollywood Reporter
Check Harvard availability
Includes film, television, cable, music, interactive media, and home video. Delivers breaking news and solid in-depth stories plus box office grosses, TV ratings, video and music charts, and film and TV production charts.Multichannel News
Check Harvard availability
Covers all the related fields of the cable television industry, including programming, pay per view, marketing and promotion, advertising sales, technology, operations, and policy.Radio
Check Harvard availability
Targets corporate, operations, and technical management personnel at radio and radio/TV combination stations, broadcast consultants, contract engineers, and recording studios in the U.S. and Canada.Variety
Check Harvard availablity
Covers film, television and cable, home video, music, new media, theater, and finance. Includes Nielsen's television ratings every Tuesday. Provides more analysis than Daily Variety.See also Find articles for databases to search on the topic.
HBS Resources
Related Guides
