A great starting place for doing research on the energy industry; this guide points to the best resources available to the HBS community.Expand/Collapse All
- Overviews and Analysis
Provides reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments. Energy is one of the industry sectors covered.
Energy is one of the industry sectors covered and includes the natural gas, coal, electric supply (nuclear, fossil fuel,etc.) and electric demand sectors. Maps of mines, power plants, etc. and regulatory agency filings are available
Frost and Sullivan
Market and technology analysis including oil, gas, solar, wind, biofuel, and other energy sources.
International Energy Agency (IEA)
Publishes research and data on energy security, economic development, and environmental protection. Select the "Topics" tab to access data by subject. Free access to some publications and executive summary of reports by country or topic.
World Energy Outlook
Check Harvard availability
Covers all sectors of the industry, providing current data and forecasts on demand and consumption.
- Petroleum (Oil and Gas)
Market and technology: basics
Journal of Petroleum Technology (JPT)
This series of articles, although dated, do give a historical look at various technologies and how they make it possible for the industry to produce more oil and gas.
International Petroleum Encyclopedia
Check Harvard availability
Ref HD 9560.5 I59 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Includes information on petroleum drilling, production, pipelines, and refining on a country-by-country basis, as well as key industry statistics and industry updates.
Oil Market Basics
Introduction to oil markets and how they function. Provides a road map for EIA data and additional information on oil markets available on the Web.Also includes information about other types of energy.
American Petroleum Institute
One of the comprehensive information sources on petroleum industry including introduction to the industry, data, reports, and analysis.
Provides reports and data such as prices, production and oil reserves.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Includes useful background information and trends on the Oil & Gas, Natural Gas, and Environment & Waste Management industries.
- Renewable Resources
Alternative Fuels and Advanced Fuels
US Department of Energy page covers fuels such as biodiesel, biomass to liquids, coal to liquids, ethanol, hydrogen, natural gas and more. Also provides information about fueling stations.
Good source for news, brief market research reports, and focused industry events.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
The lab, which isdedicated to the commercialization and deployment of renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies, offers developments in science and technology, and technology transfer on their site.
Renewable Energy WorldRenewable Energy Focus
Includes news, events, products, and technology overviews.
Covers variety of sources such as fuel cells, geothermal, hydroelectricity, and photovoltaic.
Biotechnology Industry Association: Industry & Environmental
Covers industrial-related biotechnology, including biofuels and biomass.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory: Solar Resource Information
Provides links to useful resources including solar maps.
Solar Energy Industries Association
Provides a research tab, which tracks internal SEIA research, as well as research external to the association.
Solar Energy Technologies Program
A program of the U.S. Department of Energy. Provides information about technology, markets, and funding opportunities in the areas of photovoltaics, concentrating solar power, market transformation, and systems integration.
American Wind Energy Association
Includes industry outlooks, news, events, legislation, policy, resource library, and career center.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory: Wind Resources Information
Links to useful resources including wind maps.
North American Wind Power
News, and discussion of the latest trends affecting the industry.
World Wind Energy Association
Introduction and industry reports on technology, operation and management, and grid integration and storage.
- Policy and Regulation
Database of State Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency
A comprehensive source of information on state, local, utility, and federal incentives that promote renewable energy and energy efficiency.
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
Includes news, legal resources, reports, and analysis on energy related industries.
ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability
An international association of local, national, and regional government organizations that have made a commitment to sustainable development. Provides news, events, and discussions on policy & regulatory issues.
International Energy Treaties
A database of international energy agreements is created by the University of Colorado Law School. Free access to over 500 treaties.
The legal component of this database includes federal and state case law, statutes, secondary sources such as law reviews, and state legal materials.
Regulatory Information for the Petroleum Sector
From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, offers regulation text, history, statutory authority, supporting analysis, compliance information, and related guidance.
World Energy Council
News, events, regional reports, and publications focusing on policy and regulatory issues in Europe, Latin America, and North America.
BP Statistical Review of World Energy
These statistics cover both conventional and renewable energy, providing a world energy review.
International Energy Agency (IEA): Energy Statistics by Country
Provides worldwide statistics and reports on various energy related topics including renewable energy.
North American Electricity Reliability Corporation. Electricity Supply & Demand
Check Harvard availabilty
Spread sheet that details aggregated ten-year projections of electricity demand, electric generating capacity, and transmission line mileage. Requires login from staff in the Stamps Reading Room.
UN Energy Statistics Databases
Provides time series data from 1950-2005 and is updated annually during October-November. The most recent four years in the database are disseminated through the Energy Statistics Yearbook and the Energy Balances and Electricity Profiles .
US Department of Energy: Prices and Trends
Includes historical, current, and forecasted pricing data for all major forms of energy.
- Careers, Associations and Events
See Where can I find associations for an industry or profession? Or, visit the other sections of this guide for more industry-specific associations.