Emerging Markets
This research guide was created for the Globalization and Emerging Markets course taught by Associate Professor Aldo Musacchio.
A great starting place for emerging markets research; this guide points to the best resources available to the HBS community.
Expand/Collapse All- Emerging Market Country Profiles
-
Economist Intelligence Unit
Provides detailed analysis on the business environment, regulatory framework and key economic indicators of countries around the world.ISI Emerging Markets
Arranged by country, this resource includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; reports on financial markets, companies, and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news.Country Studies
Published by the Library of Congress, these country studies are an excellent source for country histories. - Companies
-
Capital IQ
Comprehensive source for data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. Use the "Screening and Analytics" tab to build company lists.Deal Pipeline
News about recent deals and a database of transactions including auctions, bankruptcy, venture capital, financing, and mergers and acquisitions. Deals can be screened by type, date, industry, size and region. Transactions date back to 1989.OneSource
Company profiles, news, analyst reports, executive profiles, industry intelligence, and financial data.Thomson ONE
Market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and research from Thomson Financial. Also provides access to analyst reports from firms such as JP Morgan, Credit Suisse and Morgan Stanley and Deutsche Bank. - Commodities Data & News
-
Data
Bloomberg
Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets. To access commodities data, select the yellow CMDTY button.Global Financial Data (GFD)
Commodity prices back to the 19th century. Use the Data Series drop-down to find Commodity Indices or Commodity Prices.CRB Commodity Yearbook
Ref. HF1040 .C7 in the Stamps Reading Room
Check Harvard availability
Features historical commodity prices and a brief analysis of various commodities.Additional commodities databases
News
General:
Energy:
Metals and Minerals:
- Doing Business Indicators
-
Doing Business
Data and analysis that measures the business environment of more than 180 countries and selected cities around the globe.The Handbook of Country Risk: A Guide to International Business and Trade
Check Harvard availability
Provides analysis on risks involved in trading in countries worldwide and assigns a rating to each country. Provides key economic indicators and performance by industry sector. There is a companion site, @Rating. - Industry Analysis
-
ABI/ProQuest
Well recognized as a comprehensive source for news and articles, ABI is also a great source for Business Monitor International (BMI) industry analysis for countries around the globe. From within the ABI database, select "Browse" at the top of the page. Select "Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports". Browse by report subject, geography or title. OneSource is an alternate source for BMI industry reports.CEIC
Industrial, macroeconomic and financial time series data. HBS currently subscribes to CEIC's Global and Chinese Premium databases.Passport
Market research reports about various consumer products and industries worldwide. Includes "strategy briefings," in-depth forward looking analysis of global trends predicted to influence consumer markets in the future.IDC
Market intelligence and analysis in the areas of the information technology, telecommunications, and consumer technology. A great source for up-to-date, in-depth analysis covering markets around the globe.ISI Emerging Markets
Comprehensive collection of industry news, research, analysis and statistics. Also provides a list of top companies within an industry which can be sorted by assets or revenue. - Infrastructure
-
ABI/ProQuest
Well recognized as a comprehensive source for news and articles, ABI is also a great source for Business Monitor International (BMI) infrastructure reports, updated quarterly, for countries around the globe. From within the ABI database, select the "Browse" tab. Select "BMI Industry Reports".World Bank: Private Participation in Infrastructure Database
Data on more than 4000 infrastructure projects for 137 developing countries. Select the "Get Data" tab in the center of the page to view pre-defined reports or build custom reports by country and sector.World Bank: Privatization Database
Build custom reports on infrastructure privatization for developing countries. The site includes a unique feature that lets you map the transactions on a global scale.World Bank: Transport Data & Indicators
Data and analysis on railway & private concessions and private participation in transport infrastructure. Also provides access to the Logisitics Performance Index which monitors the trade logistics performance of countries around the globe.There are several key publications that focus on political risk in infrastructure projects. See:
- Wagner, Daniel. Defining Political Risk. International Risk Management Institute (IRMI) website.
- Woodhouse, Erik. Political Economy of International Infrastructure Contracting, Lessons from the IPP Experience. Program on Energy and Sustainable Development Working Paper #52, 2005.
- How Political Risk Affects Infrastructure Investments Knowledge@Wharton (1999).
- Macroeconomic Analysis
-
Bloomberg
Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets. Great source for bond data.CEIC
Be sure to select the "Global" link on the left hand side of the page and then select your country from the list. Mainly covering macroeconomic time series data, CEIC also provides country-level data covering population, education, health, income, and labor indicators.China Data Online
Population, education, health, income, and labor at the province, city, county, and national level. Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China. The Statistical Yearbook is also freely available.GDF Online: Global Development Finance
Provides external debt and financial flow data for the 136 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System.Global Financial Data
Economic and financial time-series database covering 150 countries and 6,500 different data series.IMF eLibrary
Statistical databases from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) containing country financial data (exchange rates, foreign exchange, SDRs, money supply, capital supply, commodities, etc.). IMF databases include Balance of Payments Statistics, International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics and Government Finance Statistics. - Risk / Sovereign Debt
-
Corruption Perceptions Index
First published in 1995 by Transparency International, the Corruption Perceptions Index measures observed levels of corruption within a country.CountryData.com
CountryData.com provides over seventy-five country risk-related variables including political, economic, financial, and government stability. Also includes domestic and international economic indicators, social indicators, ICRG Risk Ratings, and Coplin-O'Leary Forecasts.Economist Intelligence Unit
Provides analysis, forecasts, alerts and background data covering risk factors in 150 major markets. Select a country, next select the "Risk" tab from the top of the page.Global Financial Stability Report
Assessment of global financial markets, including emerging market financing from the IMF. Focuses on current conditions and highlights financial imbalances and other issues that could jeopardize financial market stability and sustained market access by emerging market borrowers.The Handbook of Country Risk: A Guide to International Business and Trade
Check Harvard availability
Provides analysis on risks involved in trading in countries worldwide and assigns a rating to each country. Provides key economic indicators and performance by industry sector. There is a companion site, @Rating.PRI-Center: Political Risk by Country
Free data and analysis on issues relating to political risk and insurance. The data are provided by the Multilateral Investment Guaranty Agency (MIGA), part of the World Bank Group. For additional information about political risk insurance, see Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC), a US government agency.S&P Ratings Direct
News articles, analyses, commentaries, and reports from S&P's global networks of over 1,250 analysts. Provides more than 14 years of ratings history and research.Worldwide Governance Indicators
A World Bank resource that measures six dimensions of governance: Voice and Accountability, Political Stability and Absence of Violence, Government Effectiveness, Regulatory Quality, Rule of Law, Control of Corruption. Data are available from 1996 - present for over 200 countries. - Socioeconomic Analysis
-
Human Development Report
Thematic reports published annually by the United Nations Development Progrramme (UNDP). Recent themes have included; The Real Wealth of Nations, human mobility and development, climate change, and the global water crisis. The site also provides access to thematic regional reports.OECD iLibrary
Data and reports from OECD and non-OECD countries. Publications include country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, environment, migration, social issues, and sustainable development. Also includes comprehensive data from the International Energy Agency.World Development Indicators
Statistics for almost 600 development indicators (including public health, environment, education, and labor force) dating as far back as 1960. - Sovereign Wealth Funds
-
SWF Institute
Find descriptions of sovereign wealth fund rankings that include the ranking, investment style, strategy and objectives and fund summary. The "Statistics and Research" tab includes the Linaburg-Maduell Transparency Index as well as SWF articles, papers and country specific legal overviews.See the links below for authoratative overviews of sovereign wealth funds:
- Teslick, Lee Hudson. Sovereign Wealth Funds. Council on Foreign Relations website.
- Woodhouse, Erik. The Brave New World of Sovereign Wealth Funds. Knowledge@Wharton (2010).
Additionally, the resources below provide news and information on sovereign wealth funds:
See the China Business Research Guide and the India Business Research Guide for additional resources specific to the companies, industries, trade, financial markets and socio-demographics of China and India.
Emerging Markets at HBS
- HBS Faculty Interest: Emerging Markets
- HBS Working Knowledge: Regions
