Consulting
- Overviews and Analysis
-
IDC
IDC is a comprehensive IT industry database, but it also provides in-depth analysis that covers the business consulting sector. Use the search phrase "worldwide business consulting" to find these reports (part of the IDC MarketScape collection of competitive analysis reports).Passport
Provides market reports on management and marketing consulting services in the U.S., U.K., South Korea, Japan, Germany, France, China, and Australia. Includes aggregate data pertaining to market size, share of the market, market and sector forecasts, and corporate overviews of leading consulting firms by geographic area. Use the search term "management consulting."Operating Ratios for Management Consulting Firms: A Resource for Benchmarking
Check Harvard availability
Ref. HD 69 .C6 O64 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Annual reports of industry norms such as fee arrangements, financial operating results, employee recruiting, compensation and benefits, billing procedures, and other key management information.Plunkett's Consulting Industry Almanac
Check Harvard availability
Ref HD69.C6 P68 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Profiles consulting firms across function areas, tracks the latest industry trends, and provides information on additional sources. - Companies
-
Consulting Magazine: Rankings
Includes several rankings on topics ranging from "Top 25 Consultants," "Best Firms to Work For," Small Jewels," and "Women in Consulting."Gale Directory Library
Consultants and Consulting Organizations is one of the directories that can be searched by specialty and geographic location.HBS Management Consulting Club: Firms
List of firms on the Club's mailing list.Pensions & Investments: Consultants
Focuses on investment consulting firms. Resources include rankings, firm profiles, and a report on the industry.Vault Career Guides
Scroll down to the "Management & Strategy Consulting Firms Rankings."See also Where can I find a list of the top 50 management and strategy consulting firms? and How can I create a list of companies by industry, location, and/or size?
- Careers, Associations and Events
-
Careers
HBS MBA students please see MBA Career & Professional Development.
HBS Alumni please see Alumni Career & Professional Development.Biswas, Sugata and Daryl Twitchell Management Consulting: A Complete Guide to the Industry. New York: John Wiley, 2002.
Check Harvard availabilityVault Online Career Library
Covers information on case interviewing, a description of the industry, and profiles of the top 50 consulting firms.WetFeet Insider Guides
Provides current and comprehensive information from the job seeker's perspective on the realities of working in management consulting.
- Careers in Management Consulting
- Consulting Interviews: Fifteen Questions
- Consulting Interviews: Ace Your Case
See also How do I find information about management consulting firms and management consulting as a career? and What resources can I use for networking?
Associations
Association of Management Consulting Firms (AMCF)
Lists member firms, association publications, a calendar of events, press releases, and also provides a referral service.Institute of Management Consultants U.S. (IMC US)
Geared to consultants interested in careers as sole practitioners. Provides a directory of consultants, workshops, conference information, articles, and papers. Includes the current issue of IMC Times, which highlights events sponsored by the IMC and information on IMC certification.Management Consultancies Association (MCA)
The primary professional association for consultants in the U.K. Includes a statement of best practices for the profession, a career guide, and back issues of a report on the industry; current issue is available for a fee.See also Where can I find associations for an industry or profession?
Events
Confab
Annual conference sponsored by the Institute of Management Consultants USA.Consulting Summit
A bi-annual event sponsored by Consulting Magazine.See also How can I find conferences and trade shows for a given industry?
- News and Journals
-
Consultants News
Check Harvard availability
Newsletter tracks the management consulting industry. Contains valuable rankings and trends in the profession.Consulting Magazine
Check Harvard availability
Geared toward management consultants; articles cover innovative ideas, business strategies, client performance, career options, and guidance.McKinsey Quarterly
Check Harvard availability
Topics include business strategy, technology, finance, and management. Articles are written by current and former McKinsey consultants and draw from contemporary client research. The journal publishes four standard issues and two themed feature issues per year.Outlook Online
A publication of Accenture.Strategy+Business
Check Harvard availability
The publication of Booz Allen Hamilton. The Web site includes the full text of articles and special features such as RSS feeds.What Matters
A publication of McKinsey that brings in outside authors.See also Find articles for databases to search on the topic.
