Company
Lists of Companies
Capital IQ
(Current HBS faculty, students, and staff)
Provides information on worldwide public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions. Especially useful for screening on deal specifics and firm type. Includes charting features and provides audit trail for financials. Export data to Excel. The My Capital IQ feature, permits customization of search results retrieved.
Tip: From the Analytics and Targeting tab select Screening then Companies.
CareerSearch
(HBS intranet or Authorized Baker visitors)
Brief information on over two million U.S. and Canadian companies searchable by industry, location, and size. Also includes 250,000 companies outside the US and Canada. Good for locating smaller companies and those in hi-tech industries. Create custom tables and export to Excel.
Tip: Click on Search to create ranked lists by criteria including industry, industry size, and geography.
Hoover's Online
(HBS intranet or Authorized Baker visitors)
Covers nearly 15 million companies with detailed profiles of 43,000 public, private, and international companies.
Tip: Use Build Company Lists to create ranked lists by criteria including industry, geography, and size. SIC or NAICS code, industry name, stock exchange, ranking (e.g., Fortune 500), or auditor. No downloading options.
OneSource Global Business Browser
(HBS intranet or Authorized Baker visitors)
Create lists of international public and private companies based on company size, location, industry, and other criteria. Get company profile, financials, significant developments, analyst reports, SEC filings, and news. Obtain lists of competitors and search for executive bios. Strong focus on companies in United States and Canada. Create custom tables and export to Excel.
Tip: Choose All Companies or use Public Companies for more financial screening criteria.
Orbis
(HU PIN or Authorized Baker visitors)
Provides broad global coverage of 12 million companies. Create lists of public and private companies based on various criteria such as stock exchange, company size, location, and industry. Get company profile, executive bios and salary information, financials, and segment data. Create custom tables and export to Excel.
Tip:
Use the Expert search for more screening criteria.

