Corporate Governance
This guide was prepared by Harvard Business School librarians for the HBS community. These resources have been selected as excellent starting points for academic research. It has sections on Directories of Board Members, Resources for Board Members and Executives, and Background on Theory and Standards. For further research assistance, please contact Baker Library.
Directories of Board Members
Directors Database
From Corporate Board Member, Directors Database provides information on leaders of companies traded on the NYSE, NASDAQ, and AMEX stock exchanges. Entry for each individual includes listed company boards and committee seats; private and non-profit board seats; biography; and intra-corporate relationships. Screen by gender, age, function, industry, and more.
Many of our company databases will list the current board members. See our related "Fast Answer".
Resources for Board Members and Executives
CCH Internet Research Network
(HBS intranet on HBS campus and Authorized Baker visitors)
Covers changes to a corporation's capital structure, forms, examples, and recommendations on state corporation laws, securities registration requirements, and SEC accounting rules.
Conference Board
(HBS campus only)
Publishes research reports and surveys on corporate governance issues.
Corporate Board Member
Corporate Board Member, published bimonthly.
Magazine for senior officers and directors of publicly traded corporations, top private companies, and Global 1000 firms.
Tip: See the Resource Center of their Web site for reports on executive compensation, risk management, and more.
National Association of Corporate Directors (NACD)
Organization for boards and directors of U.S. business corporations. Focus on educational, publishing, and consulting activities.
Tip: See their newsletter, Director's Monthly, for news and key issues.
Society of Corporate Secretaries and Governance Professionals
The society is concerned with public disclosure under the securities laws and matters affecting corporate governance. Web site has a good set of links and some resources available for free. Others, including many that are owned by Baker Library, are available for purchase.
Background on Theory and Standards
CalPERS Share Owner Forum
CalPERS Shareowner Forum includes a set of principles, shareholder actions, and links to other sources of information.
Corporate Governance: An International Review
Blackwell Publishing, published quarterly
Discussion and debate to facilitate the growth of corporate governance theory, to encourage more effective boards, and to produce better directors in practice.
Corporate Governance - Improving Transparency & Accountability
World Bank and the International Finance Corporation
World Bank site includes policy notes, assessments and recommendations and a Disclosure Index for 175 countries.
European Corporate Governance Institute
Features a research newsletter, working papers, and sponsors conferences on corporate governance.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development: Corporate Governance
Guidelines, publications, and data on corporate governance internationally.
HOLLIS Catalog
Search the library catalog for specific areas of research in corporate governance.

