- Overviews and Analysis
Check Harvard availability
Academic journal that focuses on research related to international food systems and how they work.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
The FAO provides an information portal that allows researchers to search publications, reports, and data by title, topic, country, or statistics. The statistics portal provides access to analysis, reports, and databases focusing on issues such as agricultural production, trade, consumption, food security, prices, and resources.
Online access to the OECD-FAO Agricultural Outlook, OECD in Figures, and the OECD Factbook, all which include agribusiness-related data. Also provides access to reports, analysis, and data on countries, and topics such as health, education, demographics, and energy.
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Provides access to news, reports, analysis, and statistics focusing on national and international agricultural issues. See results from the 2007 Census of Agriculture (conducted every 5 years).
Chicago Board of Trade
Features information on agricultural trading. Includes news and prices on corn, ethanol, soybeans, oats, and wheat.
International Trade and Commodities
This section of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) site features news, analysis, research, and data relating to commodities trade and economic development.
USDA: Commodity Forecasts
This U.S. Department of Agriculture Web site provides agricultural commodity data collected and disseminated by the World Agricultural Outlook Board (WAOB). See also the USDA Foreign Agricultural Service for non-U.S. national statistical data.
Wall Street Journal: Commodities and Futures
The WSJ Market Data Center includes intraday futures prices, spot prices, settlement prices and futures options.
- Consumer Issues
This Web site is a gateway to U.S. government agencies and publications relating to food safety issues.
International Food Policy Research Institute
The IFPRI provides access to research and data on hunger and poverty. Specific research topics include food prices, globalization, markets, and trade.
This UN Web site provides basic descriptive information and data about countries around the world. Take a look at the "Environment" tab for topics that include energy consumption, cropland per capita, and rainfall.
FAO Country Profiles
From the Food and Agriculture Organization, provide access to maps, data, news, and information on countries around the world. The site also provides featured profiles and a list of low-income, food-deficit countries.
This resource allows you to create maps of FAO data. See the Planet and Business tabs for agribusiness-specific topics.
- Policy and Regulation
The World Trade Organization publishes this site dedicated to the WTO's Agricultural Agreement. The site is updated with news and analysis related to the Agreement.
Agriculture & Food
Science.gov provides direct links to all U.S. federal agency Web sites dedicated to agricultural or food research. Links include access to agricultural publications, agriculture-related patents, and attache reports.
This Environmental Protection Agency Web site provides analysis on major statutes affecting the agricultural community in the United States, including the Clean Air Act, the Food Quality Protection Act, and the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act.
This OECD Web site provides access to reports on agricultural policies for countries worldwide.
FAOLEX Legislative Database
A collection of international food, agriculture, and renewable resource laws and regulations from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
Laws and Regulations
This USDA Web site focuses specifically on federal laws and regulations. Topics include food distribution, food safety, food and nutrition, and crop and livestock insurance regulations.
ProQuest Congressional Publications
Find Congressional hearings, legislative histories and testimony. Limit your search to CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports to locate in-depth analysis on agriculture related topics including recent reports on the 2008 Farm Bill, Federal Farm Promotion Programs, and the US-South Korea Beef Dispute.
Biotechnology & Biofuels
From the Biotechnology Industry Organization, contains current research on biofuels and biomass.
Food & Agriculture
From the Biotechnology Industry Organization, contains current research and legislative action on plant and animal biotechnology, and genetically engineered animals.
- Careers, Associations and Events
International Food and Agribusiness Management Association (IAMA)
Brings together top executives, academics, policy makers, students and stakeholders to network and stimulate strategic thinking across the global food, fiber, fuel, floral and forestry systems.
EventsAgriculture Conferences Worldwide
Listings of upcoming conferences and events. Searchable by keyword. Free newsletter subscription.