Baker Library | Bloomberg Center

Databases by Content Type

Financial Markets DataAccess

Bloomberg

Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.
  • Current HBS faculty, students, and staff in the Exchange
  • Authorized Baker visitors in the Stamps Reading Room

Capital IQ

Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people.
  • Current HBS faculty, doctoral and MBA students, and staff in the Stamps Reading Room or by request

CEIC Data

Macroeconomic, industrial and financial time series for China and other countries.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Center for Research in Security Prices - CRSP

Contains security-level historical pricing, returns, and volume data on more than 20,000 stocks (inactive and active companies) from the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ markets.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Chicago Board Options Exchange Volatility Index

The Volatility Index (VIX®) is a key measure of market expectations of near-term volatility conveyed by S&P 500 stock index option prices.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Datastream

Historical, global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, futures, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials, and economic data.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff in Baker

DealScan

Terms and conditions of the global commercial loan market.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Dow Jones Averages & Total Returns Index

Includes the Daily and Monthly Dow Jones Composite (DJA), as well as The Dow Jones Industrial (DJI) and other associated indexes.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

FactSet

A comprehensive platform used to analyze financial data from global equity and fixed income markets, and public and private companies.
  • Current HU faculty, staff, and students.
  • Individual accounts required

Fama-French Portfolios and Factors

The Fama-French Three Factor Model provides a useful tool for understanding portfolio performance, measuring the impact of active management, portfolio construction and estimating future returns.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Federal Reserve Bank Reports

Three databases are available: Foreign Exchange Rates, Interest Rates and State Indexes.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

First Call Real-Time Earnings Estimates (Thomson ONE)

Real-time delivery of research notes, earnings estimates, equity, and fixed-income ownership information, and corporate news releases.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Global Financial Data

Comprehensive economic and financial time-series database covering 150 countries and 6,500 different data series.
  • HU PIN

Global Insight (formerly DRI)

Comprehensive coverage of U.S. financial, economic, and industry data.
  • HU PIN
  • Authorized Baker visitors

GovPX

Historical tick by tick data for US Treasury issues (current year not available).
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Institute for the Study of Security Markets - ISSM

Tick-by-tick data covering NYSE and AMEX between 1983 and 1992, and NASDAQ between 1987 and 1992.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

ISI Emerging Markets

Current country and company information from more than 500 sources for emerging markets in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East.

Mergent Fixed Income Securities Database

Comprehensive database of publicly-offered U.S. bonds.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Moody's Default Risk Service

Moody's ratings actions since the late 1980s for structured securities including ABS, CDOs and RMBS.
  • Current HBS faculty, doctoral students, and staff via Research Services

Morningstar Direct

Multi-currency research platform that provides performance and holdings analysis of investments.
  • Current HBS faculty, students, and staff in Baker
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Morningstar Principia

Tracks, rates, and analyzes over 10,000 mutual funds including monthly and annual historical data.
  • Current HBS faculty, students, and staff in Baker
  • Authorized Baker visitors

OptionMetrics Ivy DB

Historical price and implied volatility data for the U.S. equity and index options markets.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Orbis

A global database containing information on millions of companies.

Pensions & Investments Research Center

An interactive online platform of key institutional investment data.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

SDC Platinum - Securities Data Company

Provides detailed information on new issues, mergers and acquisitions, syndicated loans, private equity, and more for the global financial marketplace.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff in Baker

Standard & Poor's Ratings Direct

Access to credit research on bond issues from around the world, including public finance and structured finance issues.
  • HBS intranet

Thomson ONE

Features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and research from Thomson Financial.
  • HBS intranet
  • Authorized Baker visitors

Thomson ONE Analytics (see First Call)

TRACE - OTC Corporate Bond Transaction Data

Transaction data for OTC traded corporate bonds as of July, 2002
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Trades and Quotes - TAQ

Intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) starting in 1993 for all securities listed on the NYSE and AMEX, as well as NASDAQ and Small Cap issues.
  • Current HU faculty, students, and staff

Baker Library | Bloomberg Center, Harvard Business School, Soldiers Field, Boston, MA 02163, 617-495-6040